Yet Another Top Writer is Leaving Quora

Another dirty rat flees a sinking ship

Dale Thomas
5 min readJan 2, 2021
Photo by bady abbas on Unsplash

For those of you who may not know, Quora is a question-and-answer website. It’s a bit like Yahoo Answers, but it has a strict policy that forces people to be respectful of others, and so the overall quality of the answers and the experience is much nicer.

I have been a member for over a decade. For the first couple of years, I was just lurking and didn’t engage with others, but once I did start answering questions, I soon became addicted and have been posting almost every day since. I’ve really enjoyed my time on it. It was the only social media platform I participated in, and I made many friends there, a couple of whom I’ve since met in real life.

In 2017 I was made a Top Writer, which was a fairly prestigious accolade at the time. I received a nice jacket in the mail with the Quora logo, which made me feel somewhat appreciated.

In 2018 I was made Top Writer for the second time, but they changed it so you had to buy your own “Top Writer” merchandise. No thanks! That year I think they made a large percentage of members Top Writers hoping to sell a bunch of junk, and so it meant nothing at all, but I was still pleased with the title.

In 2019 I hoped I could make a Top Writer hat-trick, but the announcement never…

--

--

Dale Thomas

Scifi writer, roboticist, and game developer, 2x Quora Top Writer. I write about writing speculative fiction, computer graphics, AI, evolution, and programming.