Dale’s Triple-Feature — Introduction

My suggestions for three related movies for you to enjoy

Dale Thomas
3 min readDec 20, 2020
Photo by Chris A. Tweten on Unsplash

For a long time, I have enjoyed watching movies in threes. I like to do that because I get more out of them that way. As a speculative fiction writer myself, I enjoy analyzing stories, so when I watch movies it helps if I can compare them to similar movies that are still fresh in my mind.

It’s also a good way of generating discussions about movies in a group. If you watch a single movie, you can discuss this or that aspect as it relates to story-telling and movie-making as a whole, but watching three movies together with a common theme allows for a much richer and more expansive discussion.

Sometimes I watch three movies in a big beer-fueled laughathon with a bunch of friends on a lazy Sunday, sometimes it’s three consecutive movie nights with my wife exploring a common theme, and other times it’s just a gluttonous movie marathon for myself in my spare time.

This will be an ongoing series of posts suggesting three movies that go well together to watch as a triple-feature. I may also refer to them as “unnoficial trilogies”, as they are, in my mind, intricately connected.

One simple rule I have is to not include more than one movie per franchise. It would be lazy to suggest the Lord of the…

--

--

Dale Thomas

Scifi writer, roboticist, and game developer, 2x Quora Top Writer. I write about writing speculative fiction, computer graphics, AI, evolution, and programming.